Celebrating A Lifetime of Achievement

ATHENA Award Celebration

June 5, 2019 from 5 p.m. – 7 p.m. at the Traverse City Country Club

Tickets include social hour, heavy hors d’oeuvres, a cocktail of choice, and the award program. Cash bar available.



In the mid-1990s, First of America Bank was a national corporate partner of ATHENA International.  Ed Arbut, the Regional President in Traverse City witnessed the impact ATHENA was having on the communities that participated in the program and brought the idea to Traverse City.  He approached Marsha Smith, who was serving on the Traverse City Area Chamber of Commerce Board of Directors at the time.  She agreed that it was a great recognition program for the community, especially with the region’s remarkable women that would be acknowledged.

In 1994, the ATHENA Grand Traverse committee was formed and in 1995, Mary Lee Lord was unanimously selected as the first ATHENA Award recipient in the region.  Since then, influential local women leaders have been recognized annually at the ATHENA Award Ceremony.

In 2018, the Zonta Club of Traverse City agreed to serve as the local host of the ATHENA Grand Traverse award. We are excited to celebrate influential local women leaders and to recognize our annual ATHENA Award recipient at the ATHENA Award Ceremony.

We will be taking nominations for the 2019 ATHENA Award until May 2, 2019. To nominate a community leader, please click here.

Congratulations to all past ATHENA Award Recipients

2018 Kris Thomas
2017 Lynne Moon
2016 Sondra Shaw Hardy
2015 Connie Deneweth
2014 Roberta Teahen
2013 Cathie Martin
2012 Ranae McCauley
2011 Kathleen Guy
2010 Sue Peters
2009 Denise Busley
2008 Marcia Bellinger
2007 Louise Hagerty
2006 Barb Benson
2005 Trish Fiebing
2004 Jan Warren
2003 Janet Bassett
2002 Suzanne Voltz
2001 Karen Strom
2000 Chris MacInnes
1999 Elaine Wood
1998 Marsha Smith
1997 Jayne Mohr
1996 Susan Bondy
1995 Mary Lee Lord

Thank you to our 2018 sponsors for supporting our event.

Interested in sponsoring the ATHENA celebration?

Sponsorship of the ATHENA Award Celebration creates a partnership that connects your organization with a prestigious women’s leadership program and connects you to other prominent members of our community.

The ATHENA Award Celebration traditionally attracts over 200 influential business people and community leaders who recognize and support women in leadership.

Attendees come from all sectors of the community: manufacturing, education, financial services, health care, government and non-profit.

The sponsorships for this “must attend” event are designed to raise your company’s profile, image and brand in front of this group of motivated business people.

Click here for sponsorship levels and benefits or email Rose Coleman (rcoleman@gtpavilions.org) for sponsorship information.